A day in the life of BETSEY

Last  week I started teaching at Klässbols Skolan in addition to Solberg Skolan.  I have been teaching at Solberg school since November 17th.  I am there Monday afternoons 1:20-3:20 and again on Wednesday 8 am- 10:00.  I have a class of 17-18 year olds.  They are what we would consider 12th graders.  They are all studying in the Science or Technical fields.  They range in ability; all can carry on a conversation and discuss in English, but their grammar skills are all over the chart.  However, all of them will pass the English test they are required to take at the end of the year.  We spend Mondays on grammar, short stories and discussions.  Wednesdays we work on a major paper called the C paper that is due at the end of the year.  Next week they are sharing a pleasure book in English that they read on their own.   I really enjoy teaching them and getting to know them as individuals.

At Klässbols I am working with a class of 8th graders, and a class of 9th graders.  We meet twice a week, on Mondays they split the time between me and a music class.   I think I may find the small amount of time we meet together frustrating.  It’s hard to do much in such a short time.  Teaching English is going to be a HUGE learning curve for me.  I spent an hour studying passive voice in order to teach the 9th graders a 50 minute class.  Gonna be interesting!  The 9th graders have a English test they need to pass in several weeks.  As Yarrow mentioned in her blog, chaos reigns supreme at this school, but the kids are awesome and are engaged in learning.  I have subbed in almost every class at the school so I feel comfortable there.  I am looking forward to this!

 I also work with two small groups of 6-10 that meet once or twice a week and need extra help in English.   Akram comes from Russia and has been here for 8 months.  He is one smart kid, his swedish is great and despite having had no English prior to his arrival in his Sweden,  we can carry on a conversation.  He SOAKS up the learning.  Other students have dyslexia or are dealing with trouble at home that gets in the way of their learning.

Between Solberg and Klässbols I am teaching a little over 50%. 

And the rest of the time?  I spend a huge amount of time transporting the girls around: to school and back again, basketball and piano. Of course, their schools don’t start or end at the same time.  Once Yarrow can bike again, that will help a little.  I let the horses out of the stable and into the pasture once or twice a week in the morning before I go off to school at 9.  This takes about an hour and is an involved process of grain, hay and rain or snow jackets for 5 different horses.  It’s a nice way to start the day.  

I am usually home by 4 pm, often earlier.  I am loving this part time stuff.  Thursdays I have no classes to teach and am looking forward to just hanging.  Tuesday and Thursday evening, I and the Gustafson women go to an aerobics class.  Our teacher is a fabulous 60 something who teaches another class before ours and can still power harder than I can.  I bought a membership at the Badhuset and I try to get there once in a while and swim or work out.  Not as often as I’d like.  Nothing really changes does it?  Travel around the world and your lazy habits just follow along and adapt to the time change.  During the luxurious months before I started subbing and then teaching full time I read many swedish children’s books. I have now moved up to teenager books but don’t spend as much time reading as I did.  The library is great, good selections, a nice video selection and friendly librarians.   We go every Thursday during piano lessons.  I subbed a couple of times at the Groden (The Frog) the daycare that Leia goes to.  Now that I teach at both schools I won’t be able to do this as often.  Evenings include TV (what did I do before TV?) supper, cleanup (what did I do before the dishwasher?) reading and yada yada.  You know how it goes.  Life.

Leave a Reply

