Sally’s blog

 

 

Kurt at Camillla and Anders house

Kurt at Camillla and Anders house

I recently spent about a week with the Meads in Sweden. It was great to see Betsey at the airport in Norway (interesting that I wasn’t even stopped at customs or passport control – I guess what happens in Amsterdam also works in Norway) and fun to catch up with her on the ride to Arvika. I updated her on my life since we had last seen each other – she filled me in on the trials, tribulations, and joys that come with living in a different country.

 

Kurt is, indeed, also in Sweden [for those of you who have noticed that there aren’t too many pictures of Kurt**… I would share more of my many pictures of him… if they had only turned out — that’s what I get for never picking up a camera before this trip! Robert, my photographer husband talked me through using his little point and shoot (and hold and hold and hold) digital camera – but, he neglected to mention that if I put the camera in my pocket, I should probably check the settings before I take (or try to take) another picture] and it was great to be met with a big hug at the house that he is helping to rebuild. Honestly, it’s hard to believe that months have gone by since I last saw these guys – it seems like yesterday!

**This has changed – see the Blog on Kurt prior to this one

The house Kurt is rebuilding

The house Kurt is rebuilding

 

Yarrow and Lily, as always, were a joy. The normal sibling issues are present, of course, but these squabbles aren’t nearly as annoying to an aunt that is visiting from another country as they are to their parents.

yarrowlily

 It was fun to see the Gustafson kids and all of their families – and to meet the friends that are so often featured in this blog. Some observations •I have never eaten moose before – I had it 4 times while in Sweden. Actually pretty darn good! •There is a museum in Arvika that has awesome soup! Betsey and I ate at the museum café, and in addition to some great art, we had some great soup. •I now know why I never wanted to go into teaching. I spent part of a day with Betsey while she was teaching her 8th grade class… enough said! •If you think groceries are expensive here, you should try shopping for food in Sweden • Same goes for gas •There are no stop signs •Leg warmers are in style in Sweden •Sweden looks just like home – looking out the window is just like looking out the window at home (Minnesota home, that is). •I am really proud of Betsey, Kurt, Yarrow, and Lily. I can’t imagine that it’s easy packing up and moving to another country (and dealing with all of the upheaval this year has brought – the collapse of the economy…etc.) and they have adapted (as far as I can tell) like pros.

Betsey and the famous Rackstadmuseet soup

Betsey and the famous Rackstadmuseet soup

 

Betsey at her desk at Solberg school

Betsey at her desk at Solberg school

 

 •I missed my family, but not as much as I had thought I would — and they had an awesome vacation without me, as is evident in the picture that I have included below – can anyone say NBA?

Severio, Max, Robert and Pemika (our exchange student from Thailand)

Severio, Max, Robert and Pemika (our exchange student from Thailand)

 

Looking forward to the Meads coming home to the States and so glad that I got to spend time with them in their Swedish home!

Leave a Reply

